earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Exuberance

Not a spare moment from the start to the end of the day, going for a short run in the morning (which turned into a long run), then heading out for a short cycle (which turned into quite a long cycle), and finally an evening out. Summer returned today. The light was astonishingly beautiful. I had to make the most of it. To recharge.

Exercise is always the best antidote to the blues and it seems to have worked its usual trick. I needed to find some space to breathe in the world. The only problem was that because the day evolved spontaneously I hadn't factored in eating - and I got into a position where I didn't have time to stop. One of my colleagues at work was getting married and the team were all invited out to the reception so I had to get back to rendezvous with them to travel out to the venue near Wetherby. My legs were running on empty and the clock was ticking away!

I did have to stop to take a few photographs however. This tree was catching the sun so beautifully that I was compelled to pull over. I was trying to frame the shot when suddenly I heard the sound of hooves and this magnificent grey came bounding towards me. It checked me out, decided I wasn't of any great interest, and careered off further down the field. Then something remarkable happened.

It proceeded to perform for me by galloping from one end of its pasture to the other, right past this beautiful tree. I don't think I have ever seen a riderless horse move quite so fast. It seemed to be sheer exuberance. Its muscularity was breathtaking. I'm convinced it was showing off. With such speed in your legs why wouldn't you want to show off? It was hard not to get the feeling that I was being sent a message. Or perhaps I should just accept the moment as a gift?

And thank you for all those kind and thoughtful words yesterday. And the love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.