A table

I was asked by our minister to be the September 'Artist of the Month' at church. I took a selection of oils from our walls and set up a smattering of my work along with an old watercolor of my nephew G & niece S. That double portrait was painted around 23 years ago when they were only 3 & 5. Some older church members recognized them right away from their Sunday School days. Another older friend remarked that he wasn't very popular with my great grandfather(painted in his G.A.R. uniform, a fraternal organization of Civil War vets), after being caught stealing apples from his trees.

A heartfelt thank you to my childhood and college art teachers, Percy Van Dyke & Peter Koenig, who helped me develop the talents I was lucky enough to be born with. Very special thanks to my T and Doro, who encourage me along with my fellow Treetop Studio artists, with every canvas I touch. Painting with oils was a lifelong dream, retirement and a new focus has helped make it come true.

For the Record,
This day came in with dark skies opening up to much needed rain...but not Labor Day weekend weather to be sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.