Bow

Delicate ribbon,
Melts the heart of cold steel wire,
To celebrate joy


Saw this on my morning walk with Mrs Woo. Presumably left from a wedding* the day before. There were lots of ribbons tied in bows along the wire deer fence around the churchyard. it got me thinking ....

When did we first start a) using ribbons and b) tying them in a decorative bow .... I googled but to no avail ....

Also, in English the word bow has so many meanings and pronunciations:

- a way of tying a knot
- the front bit of a boat
- to show deference by lowering one's head
- a means of firing an arrow
- an implement for playing a stringed instrument
- a bend in a river

The only common element I can see to all these meaning is the curving or bending of something.

So I am now pondering - how do words come about? Maybe there is a finite number, so some have to be re-used ...... ?


(*I don't know if this was the wedding the white trees were for.....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.