Monday: Harvesting On The Building

We had a tad of excitement at work today when my colleague, who shall remain nameless, left a sweet potato in the microwave, turned the timer on for longer than she realised and then got distracted.  The billowing smoke from the microwave caused all the fire alarms to go off.  Then the microwave fused and blew the electricity in the whole building - this in turn caused all the computers to crash and the server to fail, which meant that it had to be reset from London.  

That wasn't all.  The power failure caused our air lock doors to jam, and inactivated our swipe cards which meant that we had to override the system to be able to leave.  And, to top it all, nameless colleague, forget her access code for resetting the fire alarm which set off all the intruder alarms.  

To say that she is mortified would be about right.  I promised her I wouldn't tell anyone..............the annoying thing is that I missed it all as I was standing outside this building after lunch, waiting for a lift back..........this building is dull compared to the charred remains of a sweet potato I could have shown you!

--------------------------------------------------------

And, yesterday, I finished 'Unlawful Occasions' by Henry Cecil.  It was written in 1962 and Cecil was apparently quite well known in his day.  All I will say is that it is clear why he hasn't stood the test of time.  Oh, my giddy aunt!  I have never read so much superfluous dialogue.  A crime novel next, I think.

And talking of superfluous dialogue, I shall go now, but not before some music.  This is for Dolly who never fails to listen to the tunes and lets me know what she thinks.  Thanks, Dolly!

347

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.