Tuesday: Strength of Feeling

For my holiday reading next week, I shall be taking Rebecca West's 'Black Lamb and Grey Falcon', a hefty tome about her travels through Yugoslavia in the 1930s.  

Well, when I mentioned this to my Croatian colleagues, they were pretty appalled.  Why would I want to read such a biased piece of nonsense?  West quite clearly didn't know what she was talking about.  While that could be so, now, of course, the effect is the opposite and I want to read it to see what the fuss is about.  And, if there is such a strong reaction to it, it could be that there are unpleasant grains of truth in it.

Today my colleague thrust this book at me, saying 'Don't bother with that West nonsense - this is the book you need to read'.  I shall try and read both.  

Don't be misled by the thumbnail which makes this photo look more interesting than it is - whoops, too late!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.