BACK TO SCHOOL

.......... but not this one.

This building used to be Whickham Parachial School. It began life as Whickham Charity School in 1714 when Mrs Joan Blakiston left £100 in trust to the Rector of St Mary's Church, the Rev Dr Robert Thomlinson, for the education of 36 poor children in Whickham Parish. In 1742 the first school building was erected in School Lane and was altered and extended in 1825 and 1869, before ceasing to house the school on October 22nd 1971 when a new school opened in the village.

When I first moved to the village as a 6 year old I lived very near to this school. However when my Mam went to enrol me- in mid term - she was told it was full so I had to attend a different school further away from home.

After the school closed the building was used as Council Offices but these facilities were relocated to the Civic Centre in Gateshead many years ago and the building has been left empty. It is for sale but no-one seems interested.

I took this shot after I had been to slimming club. Lost only ½ pound this week. Bit disappointed but every little helps I suppose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.