Lahti Ski Jumping towers, Finland

You can visit the tallest one, during summer time, but no time for me to do this today, as I will be leaving for Helsinki Airport as soon as I check out of my hotel. Rushed out early to get this shot, several blocks from where I have been staying.

K115 jumping hill tower is the big one on the left. You can take a lift up to the top of the tower and enjoy the fantastic view across the city and surroundings.

The Ski Museum, located right next to the ski jumping grand stand, has everything on winter sport. Maybe a visit next year.

Lahti is best known for its annually held World Cup winter games, the Lahti Ski Games (Salpausselän kisat). Ski jumping events of Lahti Ski Games are part of the Nordic Tournament. As of 2010, it is the only city to host the FIS Nordic World Ski Championships six times, doing so in 1926, 1938, 1958, 1978, 1989, and 2001.

As you can see in my blip, refurbishment is in full progress right now.

Scarier slopes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.