Get well soon, Hero

Hero damaged a nail during our training yesterday afternoon. It didn't look too bad and it did not affact his training at all, but I was still a bit worried. I have heard of seemingly unworrying nail injuries that ended with an amputated toe, so I decided to take him to the vet.

I am glad I did! The vet could see that the broken nail had left the bone in the toe exposed to dirt and germs, so poor Hero was sedated, the nail pulled off and the wound burned.

Luckily it is the 'extra' nail, which is placed high up on the front legs, so it is not a toe that he really uses and it doesn't carry any of his weight. He needs penicillin for 10 days, but he should feel well and ready for training and dancing within a day or two. Phew!

Hero is fast asleep now. He will not be fully awake from the sedation until tomorrow. It is alway worrying to see your dog sleep like this... Especially after Bridie nearly died, when she could not wake up after being sedated.

Get well soon, beautiful Hero! I love you, little man!
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.