HOT DAY

I took my picture early in the morning in the educational garden where a whole field of sunflowers stood waving to me.
Then I took the light rail to Central Station where I met my friend Mieke. She was our neighbour when we lived in Kamerik, a village in the middle of The Netherlands. She still lives there and we had not seen each other for quite a long time.
I had made a plan for walking along the living monuments, the very old trees in the centre of The Hague. I thought I had told her that. At some point she mentionned that it was a lot about trees. I had the leaflet with the walk in my hand and had read now and then what trees we could admire.
So that had to be cleared.
From the centre we walked to the Westbroekpark where a wonderful Rosarium is. In my original plan I had thought to visit the Mesdag Collection of paintings but had skipped that because of the terrific warm day; I thought better be celebrated outside.
We had a lovely time in the park, sat drinking some water/tonic in the shade, there was a amazing lot to talk about. We continued our walk through the Scheveningse Bosjes, but at some point we bordered the tram to Central Station where Mieke took the train eastwards. To come home with me and from there to the station would be a bit too long.
I phoned Mischa if she wanted to share the pizza Piet Hein should make and she did. So we have a family meeting again.

My haiku:

High summer sunshine
On the sunflowers and me
I nearly turned yellow

And the proverb:

Wat goed is voor de mond, is kwaad voor de beurs.

Translation: What is good for the mouth, is bad for the purse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.