LIMICOLA FALCINELLUS

or in dutch Breedbekstrandloper. In the morning I cycled to Ter Heide, and walked on the beach towards the place where the many gulls stand on the breakwater in sea, waiting and looking for food at the low-tide.
For some time I stood near them and watched too. Took several pictures.
Then a huge machine came (like a bulldozer) to empty the dustbins and all the gulls flew quickly away.
One little bird did not feel disturbed, she stayed on the stones and peacefully picked up her food. Not even bothered about my near presence.
Coming home, after a swim in sea with Piet Hein at the Zandmotor, I looked of course in my bird's guide book and decided to name her Limicola falcinellus.
On the beach there were still a lot of sand-sea- and sun lovers, the weather still so inviting.

My haiku:

Sudden rumbling sound
Chased the gulls into the sea
Undisturbed she stayed

And the proverb:

Elke dag een sneetje, zoo raakt het brood aan 't eind.

Translation: Every day one slice, the bread comes at an end like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.