Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Jodrell Bank

Yours truly was making one of her (now rather tedious) drives north to deal with her parents house.

Today the satnav took me past Jodrell Bank, the University of Manchester radio observatory. Sir Bernard Lovell was a hero to us when I was at school. I watched the Apollo programme avidly. Sadly there isn't the money around today to fund it's research programmes sufficiently.

I decided not to stay in the parental house tonight as there's nothing very much in it now and I'd have to clear up after myself (too tired for that), so I rocked up at Mottram Hall and asked for a room. As it was after 6pm (more like 7.30pm), they gave me The Lakeside Suite for the price of a standard room. It had just been refurbed and smelt of freshly laid carpet. Very nice too, and very excited all the staff were about it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.