New View Of The Old

I had to nip down to Tollcross; I'm hardly ever there nowadays so had the thought to visit my old church, to see the recent alterations.

In the 1930's the main hall was reduced by sealing the space between the pillars, creating corridors down the side, which we found very useful. However, this meant that it was impossible to see how the windows above and below the gallery, with their Glasgow School coloured glass, related to each other. The new occupants have removed these panels to open up the hall and I was interested to see the windows in all their original glory.

To say I was underwhelmed might be an apt description; my camera couldn't cope with the two very different levels of light and, to be honest, neither could my eyes.

So, although the main hall is now much brighter, I prefer it how it was before we left. But that's the way with nostalgia, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.