T-REX #2

"He's behind you!!!"

Getting this blip was tricky...Kassidy hates posing for photos
T-Rex is in the water behind her

And after his visit with us he is off to meet Molly the Gorgeous Collie

Perspective on cancer in my life -

My gran Ada May (deceased) - breast cancer that spread but after a conversation with my sister I found out she agreed to undergo drug trials because her death could help others

My aunt Pat (deceased) - thought she had beaten breast cancer but it spread to her liver and her lungs

My cousin Fiona (deceased) - very aggressive breast cancer that never went into remission

My mum Margaret - three years clear check up on breast cancer but has had six cancerous skin lesions removed over the last decade

My sister Shona - coming up two years clear from breast cancer

My cousin Joanna - clear for several years from breast cancer

My friend Marilyn - seven years clear from breast cancer which surprises medics since she also has lupus and has a compromised immune system

My friend Sue - also at least six years clear from breast cancer

My friend Linda (deceased) - who went from feeling slightly unwell in the summer of 2007 to dying the following summer from ovarian cancer

My friend Robert (deceased) - who had a check up in November 2009 because his brother had a male cancer scare and who was dead before Christmas 2010

The list could go on if I really thought harder (too depressing) and included mothers of friends ....

Except for Robert my experiences of cancer are all female -

I've seen a genetic consultant and he's assured me from accessing records I'm not at great risk from any family issues (just the randomness of environment and fate)

but I was prodded into getting my BMI down to below 25 as quickly as possible to reduce hormone driven problems

why...well they thought I could have a hidden store of triggers in my body fat - get rid of it via a strict diet and it won't return because based on tests I was effectively post menopausal

So my message is no matter how comfortable you are with your body - your fat could kill you in a way you are not expecting






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.