T-REX #3

Note to self...careful what you write

Yesterday I said my experiences were almost exclusively female cancers and last night I found out (via Facebook - how else) that a male friend starts his treatment tomorrow

So what annoys me when cancer is discussed well for starters - headlines like this

CANCER sufferers were last night given fresh hope after experts hailed a breakthrough in the search for a new cure.

READ THE ARTICLE and you find

Dr Sadelain expects it to be tested on humans and developed as a treatment by 2020.

So if you have cancer in 2013 this doesn't seem like much of a hope for you...

Actually what I really find difficult is that journalists always use the word -CURE - when what they mean is an effective treatment - we can't cure the common cold and I would reckon that that's a simple call compared to cancer

As for gene therapy - I did a lot of genetics as part of my degree and I was taught by Alec Jeffreys - the DNA fingerprint pioneer

As part of that we were taught to look at why the population maintains a high level of seemingly harmful genes - but which are normally only really harmful when present in a double dose

The list is long but includes sickle trait, hemophilia, cystic fibrosis - the answer is that normally the carrier must gain some advantage over the normal population

So if we look at humans at a biological level maybe some cancer genes are beneficial when we are young but lethal when we are older - so what happens if we try to breed them out or alter them with genetic engineering

If there's money to be made no doubt some one will try it....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.