A lost cause

I had thought about taking part in the Sky Ride today in Holyrood Park.

Sky Rides take place all over the UK - they're traffic-free routes where cyclists of all ages and abilities can ride safely together.

I wandered down and chatted to 2 lovely men from The Bike Station about my bike. They, and Halfords, were giving free bike checks to people participating in the ride. I've had a few problems with my bike so I thought I'd get them to take a look.

Turns out my bike is pretty beaten up. Every type of bearing is shot on it, the gears are gone, the brakes and brake pads need replacing and the handlebar joint needs some work. They said the good news was that the tyres were ok, the front suspension looks good and the seat was attached. They were the only plus points.

They recommended that I didn't take part in the Sky Ride. The bike wasn't really safe enough to ride home.

So now I have a choice, I either pay to get the bike fixed up, or I get a new bike. They recommended a better bike for my needs, but it'll cost me between £100-200. I'd better start saving my pennies!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.