Prodigal Son

We've turned the corner I think. It's been a very difficult 3 weeks since the boys' return from summer holidays. I almost ran out of resolve. Almost - Charlie takes me closer to the brink every time.

And then I get a day like today, which makes it all worthwhile.

I also started a new job: I'm now a volunteer at the British Heart Foundation charity shop in town. It was a revelation - I didn't know the half of what goes on. I did window dressing, broke something, washed mountains of dusty china, lugged great big boxes from someone's car who is moving up to Orkney, only a mile from my Mum & Dad and teased one poor chap as he handed over 'his' copy of Cheryl (some sleb's autobiography). When I asked him how he'd enjoyed it, he blushed, stammered and tried VERY hard to assure me it was his wife's. I just winked at him and told him it was OK, we were trained not to judge. I think I'll be having lots of fun there.

It was a day which started gloomy and is ending sparkly. Which is a Very Good Thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.