Scribbler

By scribbler

Let them eat cake

Detail, street mural by Larry Kangas on NW 23rd at Vaughan. (SOOC)
Everything in this scene, from the brick wall to the air conditioner in the window to the fluttering awning, is painted!


CAKE: DDW Sept 10 challenge by Anniemay

How did I get from these desserts to this blipper? Piece o'cake!

I was taking pictures of scrumptious cakes at the St. Honoré Boulangerie when I remembered that it's featured in a new nearby mural. Very tricky to photograph this 65-foot-wide wall painting on one of the busiest corners in Portland, at the Fremont Bridge onramp to I-5 North and I-405 South. I aimed to settle for just the bakery portion.

But when I walked over in the 90º heat, I found that the bakery window was painted with bread loaves, not cakes. What to do? Then I looked up and saw this irresistible (painted) photographer at the second-story (painted) window. He must be a blipper - he even has a B on his cap.

Surely I can have my cake and eat it too?

-----------------------------------------

For the millions of viewers who have been pining for pictures of Big Pink, Portland's prettiest building, you can find five more here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.