Oggy oggy oggy

Well that's the Great North Run completed and we're in the car on the way back to Scotland.

It was a lot hillier than I'd thought - undulating my arse - it was just plain hilly! I managed to get a PB, but I didn't do as well as I'd hoped. I wanted under 2 hours, and I came in at 2:05:21 (by the Garmin). That's a PB of 7 minutes so I can't really complain!

What with the hills, the tough conditions and the fact that my legs still had last week's 20 miler in them, I'm pretty pleased.

Fiona (1.34) and Tom (1.42) are also pictured - they both got PBs as well. A good day out for Team Porty!

As you can see, we celebrated with a pint at the end! We then sat in the car park queue for about 2 hours trying to get back on the road. A good, iconic race, which was spoiled somewhat by the lack of co-ordination getting out of the car park!

My friend, Colin, tells me that the millionth runner will cross the GNR finish line next year. That's never happened in any race ever before. But it probably won't be me. Been there, done that now :)

Today's run: 13 miles
September running mileage: 67 miles
2013 running mileage: 823 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.