Simply Me

By Suze981

Through the fog

Today has been an exciting day. I awoke first thing with a little smile; an event practically unheard of on a Monday morning. By 4.45 I couldn't take it anymore and left work early.

I got home and started the ritual. It's amazing how many little rituals we have that we take for granted.

I pulled on my running tights.
Fastened the sports bra.
Vest on top.
Threaded headphones through the back of my bra.
Socks on and trainers laced.
Garmin on.
Road ID on.
Keys attached to my bra strap.

It has been 78 days. Today I got to go out again.

Outside the house I waited for the satellites. I tried programming my eCrumb but had a problem with the app so did without.

I'm trying to follow the podiatrist's instruction to the letter. I was allowed a mile. One silly little mile. As I set out, my ankle twinged, but it hasn't run in 78 days so I let it off. My breathing was good, my pace was steady and 9 minutes 38 seconds later it was all over.

My right insert has rubbed slightly under my arch, but I expect it'll take some getting used to, and I can see my feet have softened up without the regular running, so I'm not worried.

The most important thing is that I'm running again. I'm allowed a little longer on Wednesday. I have 3 weeks until I pick up my customised orthotics. I'm going to be up to a comfortable 6 miles by then. Hopefully by the end of the year I'll be comfortably back up to 13. If I can do that, I'll be back at the club in January. Fingers crossed.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.