The second half of life..

By twigs

Over Whinlatter

I had thought I might head away early so I could have lunch with Helen in Richmond but instead, Joyce and I drove over to Cockermouth to buy a supply of delicious locally made Cumberland sausage to take back for Dad, Tricia and Fi. I also ended up doing a little shopping - bonus! My stay in the Lakes has been wonderful and I will miss it when I leave. It's always been my favourite part of England and the area that I feel most connected to - the hills, the open space, the valleys and the woods. Nowadays though, there are so many (more?) people which makes it just a bit less 'raw'. Such is the price of progress I guess. Joyce and I returned to Braithwate via Whinlatter Pass where this view of Bassenthwaite lake poked it's head out from between the trees.

Thank you so much Joyce for putting me up (putting up with me?!) and taking me out and about. Maybe I can return the favour one day in New Zealand?!

The drive over to Richmond was easy and when I arrived at Helen's we slipped easily into catch-up mode as though it were just a few months since we'd last met, not 7 years! A walk around Richmond castle, coffee at the old railway station cafe, dinner back at Helen & Andrew's and more chatting . . . . it was 10.00pm before I left to drive back to Melton! Fortunately, the roads were remarkably clear and it was a very easy run back. Arrived around 1.00am at Tricia's then we sat up and chatted until about 3.00am! Easy for me as I don't have to go to work in the morning! Sorry Trica ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.