... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Exodus

See the grain (wood grain that is) in large ("L").

This is another "Visitors Leaving The Museum" shot. There is something very satisfying about the purposefulness of people all moving in one direction... I knew what I wanted to achieve here, but the contrasty light was harder to handle than I anticipated. In the evening (on uncloudy days) the light pours in through the huge windows in the cocoon's atrium, and makes this passage very dramatic: the cocoon and its atrium are straight ahead, and the central hall is directly behind me (I was standing just through the doors the lead away from the hall).

The light at the end is absorbing one of the front-of-house staff responsible for moving the visitors towards the exit; I described their pincer movement last week, but liked the way that the staff member's strong and assertive stance is still visible in spite of the light that is trying to absorb her.

This week is my last full week at the museum; I'm going to miss it (and my NHM friends) when I'm no longer working there...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.