Today, the France trip really came to life - a visit to the local Leclerc on the way back from Bapaume. Look at the price of that wine! And decent stuff too. I was only in there for toothpaste but couldn't resist.
But to the main event, a trip to Arras Cemetery to see my great-uncle's name up there on the pale stone. And then on to see where he died out at Roeux between the chemical works and the River Scarpe on 28th April 1917 with the 15th battalion, Royal Scots. I'm the proud possessor of a wee clipping of him that my granny kept in her wallet all her days. Her wee brother Tommy Kane. So, I'm glad to have been there.
Later out to see the headstone of EA Mackintosh (above), who I've raved about before.

And back to Arras. Beautiful blue skies and the most beautiful brown Leffe on draught. Or Leffe Brune as they call it. That didn't stop me ordering a blonde for afters, mind.

[Orival Wood Cemetery]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.