A Very Full day!

It's been a wonderfully adventurous day.....which culminated in my getting a wee bit lost...but no worries....i was rescued by a lovely woman in the bank....she ordered me a taxi...but that was way at the end of the day....after walking all over the downtown area....my feet hurt, my bag felt too heavy, so i got a taxi!

i started out bright and early, off to the camera store where i purchased a lovely new lens.....still getting used to it, but i think it'll be just want i need! then i headed towards Granville island again. on my way down the hill, i passed this little gallery....selling limited edition lithographs and etchings of some of my favorites..... like Picasso, Chagall, Renoir, Dali, Matisse.....it was so cool to be in there and the young chap that owned it was so sweet! i mean these pieces of art ranged from $10,000 up to $90,000!!!! but even knowing it was way out of my realm he treated me so nicely. Then i ventured into another gallery showing contemporary Canadian Art. The man there was great to chat with.....i took this image because it is a piece of glass made by Jeff Goodman who died a couple of years ago, only in his 50's.....i went to Sheridan college at the same time as him, knew him a bit, i think he was a year behind me.....anyway, i was so taken aback when the gallery owner told me who had made this piece that i had to blip it.
we continued a really lovely conversation about art and craft!

Then to the wonderful Opus art supplies store...right beside Emily Carr College of Art, where the place was bustling with young and vibrant art students. the guys there were so cool....i almost took a portrait of the young guy who helped me...he was just so funny and personable. i got myself some lovely new pastels....so much more fun than trying to choose colours from the internet! The atmosphere down there is so amazing, so busy and colourful and energetic! i had a bit of lunch then got on the water taxi to head home!

So, lots of walking, lots of sightseeing....and spending a bit too much money! oh well, i am on holiday after all! hope the guys did brisk sales at the Baddeck Market today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.