Grandy Nook

Today's the day ...................... to meet a stranger

I met a very nice man today called Derek.

We happened to be walking the same way along Low Fellside and we got talking. I had my camera with me (of course) and I stopped to take a picture of one of the houses. He asked me if I'd like to take a photograph of the house where he lived - Grandy Nook .

Grandy Nook is a very old building, shown on a map of 1614 with an enclosed garden and a tenterfield at the rear. It used to be the Wool Pack Inn kept by one Willie Whittle. It was known as Grandy Nook Hall prior to its rebuilding in 1669, from which time it was the town house of Thomas (founder of Sandes Hospital in Highgate)and Katherine Sandes.

So this one's for Derek - and it's nice to think we're not strangers any more .........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.