a town called E.

By Eej

The Project

It's time for my annual mockmilkweed project. Every year I stealborrow some pods that have just begun to explode and rehome them to our backyard. I love mockmilkweed.
The Hummingbirds love it.
The Monarch Butterfly loves it so much it's the only plant they lay their eggs on.

Does the mockmilkweed love my backyard, and all the care I give these seeds and does it appreciate how badly I want them growing where I can nurture them?

Like hell it does.

That's why the Beloved calls it mockweed. It randomly grows everywhere by the side of the road where it mocks my efforts to ... uhm .. domesticate them. Except it's not really domesticating what I'm trying to do - they can flaunt their stuff in my Growing Not Mowing area. How wild do you want it, Milkweed? I startled a bunny this afternoon, in the middle of the day, in the G.N.M. area. If that doesn't say 'jungle' I don't know what does!

It will be a wonderful day in the amE household if by some stroke of luck I will actually one year succeed. The Monarch is counting on me, they need all the help they can get.
*crosses fingers*


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.