Plus ça change...

By SooB

Une Direction

In the medieval part of town, one way streets seem to change direction from month to month. Which is part of the reason I park far from the library and walk to it. Today, the overdue books were finally returned, new ones were chosen but... somehow I have lost the library cards so, after a fruitless search at home, I think I'll need to stump up for new ones.

Some quick distraction shopping with K so she 'forgot' about the guinea pigs for sale at the other end of the market, then off to collect C from basketball - where it turned out I recognised a rather handsome chap in the crowd (Mr B, of course). Dual car shopping and lunch followed.

After K was deposited at the afternoon's party (wearing - to everyone's shock - a skirt) there was (so I thought) a meeting to discuss what we were going to do with the co-owned pigeoniere that needs fixing. I should have guessed I got that a bit wrong when everyone else showed up with crowbars... Anyway to cut a long and rather dangerous story short, our neighbours tried their best to kill themselves by pulling the building down on top of them for a while, until Mr B got up on a safe roof behind it, told them to get out of the way, and pushed it down. There followed a couple of trips to the tip and much chat (and a little beer). After Mr B took my gloves - since the ones he'd brought over were his good gloves - there was no more work for me, so I stood around with a pregnant lady chatting about maternity leave, teaching kids to sleep through the night, how to best kill a rabbit and so on.

Dinner was a last minute change of plan (since Mr B realised at about 4pm that the 5 hour slow-roasted lamb shoulder was.... still on the kitchen bench), some Blackadder with the kids and now mindless TV with Mr B beckons.

Unless, of course I want to join the phone queue for tickets for One Direction - which go on sale any minute now according to the evening news....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.