Hampden Bridge

We made our way east and south via the M5, M7 and Hume Highway, taking us via Bowral (for coffee and a bit of a shop) and then via Moss Vale to the Nowra Road which takes you though the beautiful Kangaroo Valley. This is one of those occasions when I wish I could post a PAGE of pictures instead of just one. This part of the state offers some of the most beautiful rainforest and lush undulating dairy cattle grazing land anywhere in New South Wales - or Australia if it comes to that.

Just before one gets to Kangaroo Valley Village with its colonial buildings and curio shops, one passes over the Hampden Bridge which is reputed to be one of the last surviving pre-commonwealth main road bridges still in use. It is a relatively rare suspension bridge which was opened in 1898. Only a single lane is available and only one heavy vehicle is allowed on the structure at any one time.

I should like to thank AmblingCamera for hosting her wonderful "Square September Challenge". I have found it challenging and fun thus far. Nonetheless I am afraid that I shall be parting company at this stage, given that so few of the images that I shall be blipping from our south coast trip lend themselves to that format.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.