Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

Empty

It's been ages since I did a hotel-room still life. Not since here or here.

I am at the Hilton Islington, learning lines for tomorrow's early-morning shoot in the City. This caught my eye: reflections in the smoked-glass desktop in my room -- all I had to do was remove the paper caps from the glasses and the £3.95 price-tag from the 1-litre bottle of water (steep, but as nothing to the thievery-rates they charge for in-room internet access here; the scoundrels).

I liked the asymmetries in the lighting falloff and the edge of the desk being just visible on the right, as counterpoints to the symmetry of the glassware. Deliberately imperfect.

Was going to make up a title about the glass being half-empty or somesuch, But actually I am simply running on empty now; didn't manage to get any time off at the weekend, again. Knackered. Really knackered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.