Kawau sunrise

Out for a run before sunrise this morning, and was able to watch as the sky changed and the sun eventually showed above Kawau Island. I did quite a nice series. This was my preference because it was as the sun became fully over the top of the island, and a thin band of cloud lay across the face of the sun.

I had a few things to deal with this morning, after which I was asked by the lads to come with them, their mother and Granny S to go on the Dome Hill walk. How could I refuse. We had a bit of ciabatta loaf left and some ham, so I made one large sandwich which I then divided into five mini sandwiches, each with an accompanying piece of cheese, and a small packet of fruit juice. Sturdy footwear and a warm top for everyone, and off we went.

Young L is a bit too little to cope with the track all the way to the top of The Dome, so we stopped at the Look out (about half way) at whch point the nicely formed path with well constructed steps changed to being a "tramping track" suitable for adults of moderately high fitness levels. We had our lunch looking out over the flatlands below us towards Warkworth, Snells Beach, and the gulf.

When we got back to the beach house the lads wanted to go down to the beach. I was able to persuade them to wait an hour or two to allow the tide to come in far enough to make it fun for them. We had great fun with the water (them), throwing big rocks in the water (them) and skipping stones (me and them and their mother).

Mr H found a superbly flat stone of relatively light weight. He gave it to me; very generous. I got the angle and speed right and I swear there were at least ten if not a dozen skips before it ran out of steam and sank. The boys were delighted and impressed. their mother didn't see; I do hope she believes us.

When we got back up from the beach washing the sand off their feet turned into a half hour of water play so the dry clothes which they replaced their beach clothes with were wet as well.

Posting this in the 10 minutes I've been given before dinner.

Large is really good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.