Father and Son

Got a very early train this morning to meet up with my old running buddy Dave in Whaley Bridge where he's rented a cottage this week with his wife Chris and their two youngest of four, Ash and Phoebe, the elder daughters having left the nest and now making their own way in life. Thanks to the wonder of blip I can now look up and know that I last took a run with Dave fractionally over two years ago, up and over Snowdon in North Wales. Today's run wasn't quite so epic, partly due to Dave having crocked himself this week and also because of the weather. The visibility was very poor, with thick clag on the hills and a forecast for rain coming in after lunch - which it duly did.

But that was no real bother. It was simply fun to be running alongside Dave again, reliving lots of old memories. It was great to have young Ash along too, for we were able to tell him really embarrassing and crazy stories about each other. He must think that we were completely mad. We ran over Shining Tor (which wasn't very shiny at all in the thick mist), before running to Buxton via the head of the Goyt Valley and an old Roman Road. We actually arrived dead on the predicted time and met up with Chris and Phoebe for coffee and then lunch.

As the rain set in during the afternoon we withdrew back to the cottage for tea and a good natter. The last time I had met up with Chris and the kids was nine years ago. Ash was 8 and Phoebe just 2 years old. They have grown into fine young people. Time moves on at a scary pace, but Dave is just the same fellow he's always been, running with the same gait and still totally unable to make a decent cup of tea. Some things never change. There's also not even the merest hint of any Kiwi intonation in his accent. And that after living in New Zealand for more than 25 years. Kind of reassuring!

You've been very generous to my good friend the formidable Florrie. She's definitely one of the most colourful of my cast of Shipley characters. I think she'll be popping up again. Thanks for all the great feedback, and especially the hearts. I'm sorry that I never seem able to find time to thank you in person. I'm touched be every single one.

PS Just noticed that my year ago shot is one of my personal favourites.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.