Lake Benmore

I had such a good time yesterday in the little boat with Warwick, I decided to head out with him again this morning.

The boat is moving but see it large for extra beauty and peacefulness.

We couldn't go until we'd watched the rugby. *Sigh*. It's the only game I've watched on telly all year and I actually enjoyed it (sort of ;-) Apparently I chose a good one to watch.

Then it was off fishing again. Just a couple of minutes down the road, me sitting in the back of the boat, Warwick driving the tractor.

One of the things I've really enjoyed has been our lack of technology. The little boat has a depth finder and fish finder but Warwick pressed something and it wouldn't tell us anything more. Instead we've had to use our eyes and think about things.

It's worked. With the Ahuriri River bringing in glacial clouded water released from one of the hydro canals, we've had to move around for clearer water. We've watched for midges and 'rises' (when trout come up to the surface to suck down insects).

I checked the stomach contents of a couple of fish and they're been slurping up snails from the lake bed. Not surprisingly they've kept in close to shore just on that drop area. All good if you're in a little boat as you can get in just that bit closer.

Today I tried combing trolling with casting back beyond fish I spotted cruising in close. Sometimes it worked and my rod would bend as another fish took the bright pink lure.

Warwick weakened and brought himself a pink lure at the petrol station this morning. I'm not allowed to tell anyone ;-)

Lunch, clean up and home. Now fish to smoke and process, clothes to wash and yes, work again tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.