ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

Oh Dear - Less Deer

I had my eyes tested today and was told they had improved....happy me!! so I thought I'd test them out looking for the deer herds in the park. The deer culling in the Phoenix Park I knew would be finished today so I went up to photo the reduced herd.... They were gathered on the west side of the Fifteen Acres in a subdued wake for the fallen.... They never gather together in one group..... They were obviously looking for comfort in numbers.... Like ourselves they draw comfort from those around us.... Reminds me of St. Crispin's Day Speech of Shakespeare's Henry V
"From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remember'd;
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne'er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition:
And gentlemen in England now a-bed
Shall think themselves accursed they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin's day". I felt sad for them as I wandered though the herd as usually they scatter when I approach....but not today...today they looked as if to say "Why us?"..... just saying

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.