Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Love locks on Le Pont des Arts

I'm in Paris for the day with my friend Isobel.

Our first stop at Musee d'Orsay was thwarted by a three hour queue to get in, so we walked down the Left Bank and discovered this amazing bridge. I'd heard of bridges in Russia being used this way, but not seen it until today. Lovers write their names on the padlocks and attach the object to the bridge as a symbol of enduring love. There are tens of thousands.

Walking Paris seemed like a better idea. Finding little coffee shops and restaurants, an amazing kitchen shop called E. Dehillerin and a Detective Agency.

One of most curious streets we found was Rue Montorgueil in 2nd Arr. Lined with beautiful shops selling meat cheese and amazing vegetables (I know, a mushroom isn't technically a vegetable), I was surprised by the poverty than ran along side. I was unsure of the meaning of this fly poster on the street, knowing Paris to be a racially volatile city. Happily the logo represents a clothing chain who contributes profits to charity.

Final encounter of the day was with Jimmy, waiting for Eurostar home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.