THE VARIED WEATHER

of today gave us sunshine and rain and when it did not rain thick grey clouds that forebode rain.
I went to the Heempark for a very short time and cycled futher to the big pond of the Madestein park. At that time the weather was still good but not optimum.
I found the swan family that Mischa and I had seen at Ockenburg, the parents and their four children, and there was one lone cygnet that kept a distance to the family and another young that was at least more than one year old.
Marylene, who joined me after a while, told me that.
And she told me too that the swanchildren of the big ponds were left to themselves again, their father and mother were chased away by the big agressive male.
They were for the moment safe but who knew for how long.
While I watched at the Madestein pond the father of the swan family swam with feathers wide up to the ones without a family. It is a big pond and he chased them to the outskirts. For a moment I thought I would cycle there and could probably rescue the young, but at that moment the father swan let go and returned.
The picture of the cygnet I took at another canal, where a family was with six children. The all ate the reed.
In the afternoon Piet Hein and I cycled to a dear friend (she was at Kindergarten with Piet Hein when they were very young and stayed friends later). She is a warmhearted lady, who has always cared for her six grandchildren, and while we were there two of them came to visit her and would stay for dinner with the mother of one of them.
We left and were glad to cycle home before it started to rain.

My haiku:

The pond is so wide
Could I swim to the other
Side I wonder now

And the proverb:

Z/hij is te breed voor een servet en te smal voor een tafellaken.

Translation: Sh/he is too broad for a napkin and too narrow for a tablecloth.

Meaning: Not longer a child, not yet an adult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.