Sydney

By Sydney

Parrotia persica

I love this tree. I have one on my front patio and one in my backyard next to an autumn-turned-dustyviolet Cryptomeria japonica 'Elegans' (glimpsed behind). It's not the most inspired planting combination, but they delight me and I take great pleasure nodding to them as they companionably face winters together.

Years ago, I planted a Parrotia in my parent's backyard which has grown well and now reaches protectively over their back courtyard, easily seen from their bedroom. My mother placed great store in that tree. She called it My Tree. We call it Your Mother's Tree or Mom's Tree now. As ill health tried to take her on, she spent time resting on their bed viewing this tree, reading historical biographies and British mysteries, drinking tea with milk, and catching us up on current events gleaned while we were out, but always recounting the dramas of her tree's residents. From her bed, she would watch the chickadees and finches, the woodpeckers and hummingbirds zoom through its hidden highways, hopping from the feeders to the ground and back into the safety of its harboring branches.

This tree, along with pink dogwoods and red leaf maples, remind me of her though how they could increase the number of times she comes to my mind every day I do not know! Tuesday is her birthday. I bought a present for her which I will open with dad on that day. My coworkers opened it to make sure it arrived unbroken, I have yet to see it, my father will be grateful that he doesn't have to dust it and mom would LOVE it! It's yours mom. I am, too. xo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.