12:12 am - SundaySkies 10/13/13

You would think I was a little bit excited, wouldn't you? I mean, taking my SundaySkies photo only 12 minutes into Sunday!! Actually, we had been out on the river visiting friends for dinner earlier in  the evening (the day before technically) and on the way home had this bright moon in the sky with us. We have lights on the boat, but the moon in fact helped guide us home. I took some photos when we reached the dock and was pretty impressed with my Sony Cybershot. I did not blip them for the 12th though, as I thought I might try this sky scene again for Sunday, even if it meant blipping late.

After arriving home I stayed up until midnight -not unusual for me. As I was going to bed it hit me: it was after midnight and it was Sunday!! So I quietly snuck out back while Steven was sleeping and tried once again. Technical details: I did not do much to this image except brighten it a tiny bit and resize it a little. And I did not use a tripod, but I did rest my elbows on the dock post. I have not learned quite enough to set the camera myself, so I used the "Hand Held Twilight" scene selection -shoot low light scene with noise reduction no tripod. This set my camera at f/5.6, exposure 1/250 sec (long, I think) and ISO at 250 -for those of you who work with these variables all the time and might be interested.

It is a lot of moon for a sky photo, but it is still the sky and all it's glorious parts, so here it is as my second SundaySkies photo. I aim to do this project through the end of the year and my goal is to appreciate the sky's variety -it's right before our eyes! If you would like to join me at anytime on a Sunday, please do. Just take a photo of the sky, upload it to your blip journal and let me know via comment that you would like to take part. I will add your link to my post . . .
(I will update this later today!) More about this project is here.  

I am lucky to have some blip friends joining me this week! Thank you!
Please visit them to see their version of SundaySkies.

Paladian
hobbs
annhall
Anneli
jkneworleans
It's a Journey

---
reminds me of a children's rhyme . . .
I see the moon and the moon sees me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.