Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

Inside a metal box

I went to the bank in South Kensington this morning.

Paying the two hours maximum parking gave me time to pop into the Science Museum to see Only in England, a photographic exhibition by Martin Parr and Tony Ray-Jones. I was very moved by Parr's memento of Hebden Bridge, which was intimate and special. However Martin never had at dash off because his parking was running out!

Back on the ground floor I had a chance to look at the Space section. None of this northern industrial heritage for me. Give me a Lunar Module any day.

Gazing at Helen Sharman's space suit, I wondered what it must have felt like to be cramped up in a rocket, several layers deep in life supporting technology. The effort involved in doing simple things like eating!.

Then quickly over to my favourite exhibit, now back on the floor after a brief holiday. The crash test dummies with their injuries a plenty. How many metal boxes have they rattled around over the decades.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.