fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Crake Trees Tower House

At the weekend we stayed at Crake Trees Manor, which is, in fact, a farm but on its land it has this, the Tower House, originally built in the fourteenth century. According to the notes that were in the farmhouse it "is an instructive example of a small manor house showing a multiplicity of medieval and post medieval work".

Just after (an outstanding) breakfast, I was standing on the edge of the field taking some photos from a distance, when Mike, the owner, came out and said it would be fine if I wanted to go and have a look 'round. So, I did.

In the last few years, efforts have been made to prevent the building from deteriorating further, and it's pleasingly easy to see which bits are new. I wouldn't like it if I couldn't tell which were the genuinely old parts. That said, I couldn't tell whether this kitchen was medieval or post medieval or what.

What was amazing was to crouch down and touch the floor and think of all the people who had walked upon it. I doubt the floor was seven centuries old but it was still moving to think about all the people who had moved through this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.