a town called E.

By Eej

Saviour

Today I found someone trying to cross the road with me.
I said, casually: "You realise that there is no way you can cross here and reach the other side in time to not get squashed, right?"
No answer. More moving into direction of upcoming traffic.
I said, with urgency: "Okay, there is NO soil for you to crawl in between this spot *points* and all the way over there *hand wave*, you need to go back!"
No answer. More moving.
I said, hysterically: "Oh to hell with it!", got off the bike which has no kick stand so I had to balance it against my leg, bent over to grab the worm that had no intention of letting me catch him/her, try to not notice the sniggering faces of people thinking that I'm certifiable at best and deposit the worm in the nearest patch of grass, hoping the stress hasn't rendered it catatonic so it will crawl back into the soil.

And then I cycled home thinking things like: "But what if it has a family across the road?"

Gah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.