a town called E.

By Eej

Survivor

It was not the start of a good day. In fact, it was crap.

So I stayed home until it was time to go to the dentist. Harley was beside herself with joy which she showed by first purring loudly on top of me followed by some impressive snoring. I watched Inspector Lewis and brushed my teeth at least 6 times.

I arrived on time, chose bubblegum as topical gel before the injection because it was the last one I heard and I had already forgotten the others. (I did suggest a Margarita flavour, but that was later).

It wasn't bad. I mean, lying upside down in a chair for an hour and a half is horrible and I had a bad case of almost-lock-jaw, but my anaesthetic was so good I felt no pain in the mauler that was being mauled. Not a thing! And before I was tumbled upside down and immobilised we talked about running. Apparently my dentist has just started as well. He said: "I want to always be healthy enough to be able to run 5k." I loved that.

As I was getting ready to pay (hurray for insurance paying 80%) an elderly lady stuck her head through the office window and handed the assistant 2 foam figurines to choose from. The assistant chose the pumpkin, and then the lady said:"Here you go miss!" (MISS!:)) and handed me this purple owly. I thanked her, smiled a half smile with my numb face and told her that that was just what I needed.
She smiled back. "That's what people tell me!"

What a wonderful thing it is to hand out little foam smiles to unfortunate bastards like me who have just endured a root canal.

And now I'm going to lie down and maybe nap and try to regain control over the left side of my face. I don't like not having control, it freaks me out.


ps. I generally try not to look this dishevelled but circumstances conspired against me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.