Hawthorne Hipsters!

Portland, Day 2

My second blipmeet in as many days was just as much fun as yesterday's! But, more of that in a moment...

The day began with a walk at Council Crest, Portland's highest point (1,073 feet above sea level) and the perfect location from which to view the city and beyond to Mt Hood and Mt St Helens.

Then, BeautifulLife drove me over to the Hawthorne district where we ate a light lunch at the place that's been described as Portland's best vegan dining experience (and who am I to disagree?) - Harlow. I loved it and have plans to open a branch in Liverpool immediately!

SE Hawthorne Blvd itself is a real hipster area and I really enjoyed strolling along, admiring all the shops, eateries and people and taking pictures.* No wonder the fabulous blipper TerriG has chosen to document it as her contribution to the One Street project! It rocks!

And speaking of TerriG... Next on the agenda was a visit to Terri (on the left here), her lovely partner LaurieT and their wonderful dog Liza - sometimes to be found blipping under the name Barky Mooseherd!

It was a great afternoon. I loved meeting the four children whom Laurie cares for 4 days a week and who have become known to blippers the world over as Ms C, Ms Z, Mr L and Mr E. Four total charmers! And it was huge fun to cuddle Liza too! But best of all was the conversation (we covered a lot of ground but there was still so much else I would have liked to talk to them about!) and the delicious roast vegetables and tofu prepared by Terri. I'm still licking my lips!

Thanks so much Terri, Laurie and Liza! The time just flew by and I really hope I can see you again next week!

*I'm thinking I may have to compile a blip folio of my Portland visit as there are far too many photo opps here and I can't blip them all! But that will have to wait until I get home...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.