piperlee

By piperlee

Autumn Walk

Living in the Pacific NW has afforded me so many blessings. Yet, I'm constantly amazed that I've made it this far in my life and have overlooked so much.

We get so entrenched in our little piece of the world that we don't look around, beyond the familiar route. I challenge you to turn off the voices in your head - the stressors of your job, family, health, and self-imposed worries. For 30 minutes, give yourself permission to be free.

If you open your eyes, even the same path will bring forth surprises. Seasons are the most dramatic catalyst. It is pretty hard not to notice the changing leaves of fall, the harsh lines of winter, the new growth of spring, and the vibrant colors of summer.

Autumn is my favorite. A recent walk through Clearwater Park in Springfield, OR was amazing. The changing colors of fall, the sounds and color of the river flowing along the path, a bald eagle soaring over head, two snakes (the first I've seen in years - fortunately), webs spun capturing fall's bounty, an orange polka-dotted mushroom, yellow and brown leaves resting on bright green ferns and moss, sun streaming through the trees spotlighting autumn vignettes, and the air -- clean, cool, crisp and fragrant.

I'm thankful for these sacred spaces, and the opportunities we are given to stop and enjoy them. My challenge to you is to find the beautiful in even the most desolate places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.