Green Shield

Basking in the patch of sunshine this morning this was the first bug I spotted on getting outside today which was very colourful. Love his very tiny orange oculi. It's a sap sucking insect so not too helpful to the gardener. Often called a stink bug because if attacked it produces a pungent liquid with a foul smell from special glands near the hind legs.

A day of sunshine and showers and in those windows of warmth I managed to grab the camera to mosey round the garden. Tripping up over an errant Siamese - of previous blips - who kept winding his way round my legs, I nearly fell full length...... a few times!

In Mexico stink bugs are eaten alive and cooked -- for instance in pate or salsa as their aroma adds a certain je ne sais quoi to the flavour! Think I might possibly give that experience a miss - today at any rate!

Do you remember Green Shield Stamps? There's a blast from the past!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.