Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Surprise Sunshine

Getting to work was especially difficult this morning. So dark and cold - and I was extremely tired and a bit depressed that the forecast called for rain all day.

But I was most pleasantly surprised that the sun peaked out frequently. On several occasions in the afternoon, I had to pull the shades on my windows at work to be able to read my monitors. On one of those occasions, the sun was blinding me, but it was simultaneously pouring rain. Anyway, the surprise bolstered my spirits and made for a nicer-than-anticipated day.

In the evening I met up for dinner with a group of multinational friends and acquaintances whom I rarely see - not part of my mainstream expat circle. It was lovely to catch up over spicy Thai curry. These bright sunshiny-yellow roses adorning the table seemed to echo remains of the day and offer a sense of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.