Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Bleach Station

OK, not sure if I'm going to type much (cue me probably blithering on half a dozen pages...). Wandered up the road to the station, train's late - and eventually cancelled - so got the next one, so had some time to wander about playing with the manual 50mm. I took this (obviously) once I had gone to the platform to await the train. I rather liked it, especially desaturated a bit like this.

Larger.

I'm really enjoying the challenge of using the manual lens every day, and I'm struck by how easy and indeed natural it becomes. On the way home I had the focus ring set to keep most walk-around distances mostly in focus; I then saw a big and interesting-looking helicopter with something hanging out of it (on seeing the photo mrs tsuken informed me it was 'Elvis'); I raised my camera, twisting the focus ring back a touch towards infinity as I did, snapped, and walked on ... it was in focus. It's such a gorgeous lens to use - to the point that I'm wondering about an old Pentax M telephoto, rather than a new fancy jobby. Given that the K-30 has in-camera shake reduction, I don't need to look for lenses with that, so some old glass with manual controls that work well might be just the ticket.

addit/update: this photo gave me my very first Flickr 'Explore'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.