Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Murmurings

Portland, Day 6

Today, BeautifulLife drove me down to Albany - about an hour and a half or so outside Portland - to meet up with her Uncle Chuck and Aunt Shannon at their beautiful, antique-filled, home, where Shannon had prepared a very impressive feast! I was particularly impressed by the pumpkin pie - which could hardly have been more seasonal or American if it tried!

Afterwards, a walk was in order in an attempt to work off a calorie or two...

Whilst walking, I was struck (not literally!) by this rail trestle which immediately reminded me of the one on the back cover of REM's debut album, 'Murmur' (1983). A great album!

Thanks to everyone for your comments while I've been away, you've fair warmed my cockles, I must say! I'm not finding a lot of time to comment in return but I am continuing to look at your journals and keep up with what you're up to!

One point I feel I should address though is that I've had a few comments lately mentioning the quality of my iPhone pictures. This is something I've commented on several times in the past but more recent viewers won't have heard it before so I just want to make sure I'm not misleading anyone! In fact, my pictures are taken with a Nikon Coolpix P510. The problem is that I then download them to my 'ancient', original-version, iPad for processing and then upload them to this site using the original Blipfoto app - which assumes that I must be using an iPhone... It's something I've raised in the past with the good folk at Blip but it seems there's not a thing I can do about it, beyond upgrade to a shiny new, all singing, all dancing up-to-the minute iPad. I can't even download a new version of the app on my old-school iPad as it's too obsolete to be compatible. So, for now, I just have to leave it as it is. I find it very frustrating as I don't want to purport to be using an iPhone when I'm not... But, there we have it! I hope that's cleared things up a little!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.