Sydney

By Sydney

Lew's happy day :)

This is my dog, Lewis. He is a rescue dog, almost 9 years ago now. He follows me everywhere: from laundry room to kitchen to car to bedroom to kitchen to laundry room to recycling bin to kitchen to garden, around the garden, to kitchen to laundry to shower to couch. He has grown into my best friend. And I think the world of him.

I came home unusually early today and together we went outside in the sunlight to do a bit of weeding. I sat on the cold ground plucking tiny blackberry seedlings out from between the Hellebores and Campanulas that have enthusiastically self seeded while Lew laid in my lap. At 90 lbs Lew acts as a heating blanket as well as a companion and I give thanks every day for his friendship. His ears are typically upright unless, as here, I am listing all the reasons he is a good boy and then he smooshes them flat against his head, sort of curling them in on himself with gratitude and glee. He gets this goofy, gooey look on his face and I think he is happy to know he is loved.

In addition to this unexpected time together, my father was on his way over to visit for a bit, Philip's father was bringing him over for tutoring, the plumber was due to cure the ailing sink and Lew's taunting Squirrel was leaping and rushing from tree to tree, chattering. So much going on all at once! Such a happy day!

Lewis loves my father, adores Philip and apparently has discovered new depths in the soul of the plumber. Such a big afternoon! He's sleeping now in the sunshine streaming in the window. Life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.