Don't be greedy now!

The first wee chick is very eager to get some food, he/she is strong and quite persuasive. Both parents help with feeding taking turns during each session. I think the chick must be 24-48 hours old. I have blipped the parents here. It's good to see the nest has survived as its quite exposed to the elements, not sure how many more eggs there are to hatch.

Scientific name: Phalacrocorax varius
Maori name: Karuhiruhi
Common name: Pied Shag or Pied Cormorant

Other shots of this family can be seen here

A better shot of the chick is here

As I type the predicted strong nor'west wind has arrived. It is very warm and quite noisy  as the wind rushes through the trees sending branches in all directions. My gardening mat has turned into a magic carpet and glided by the window while my bucket has rolled away reminding me of the three little pigs coming back from the market to beat the big bad wolf. The weather has been most unusual this spring.

Time to put my groceries away, marinate some salmon in a teriyaki sauce and cut some veges for a stir-fry, hubby's favourite meal at present.

Happy Thursday to you all :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.