By Himself

By Himself

Hidden valley

The Sheep's Head peninsula is a narrow finger of land pointing south-westwards into the Atlantic ocean. It has several geological faults where sections have shifted south, creating narrow, rocky valleys that usually carry watercourses down from the central ridge.

This is one of those faults. It is a favourite place of mine because it is has an aura of mystery and the small clapper bridge crossing it looks ancient. I have ventured up the little valley on several occasions and once came across a fascinating rock formation that looked as if it had been carved out by a receding glacier after the ice age - but try as I might, I could not find it again today.

Deep swathes of gorse and grass hiding standing water and boggy ground impeded my progress so this will have to wait for another day. But I'm determined to find that place again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.