Blowing a Gale...

I rarely do such lazy Blips but I was told my many concerned by my current cold that I do NOT go out into the storm and to take it easy, that I took this eleven minute exposure whilst watching Alan Carr's 'Chatty Man' on Channel 4+1.

I used my Tiffen ND3, turned off the lights and closed the curtains around the back of my D700 camera (on the window sill) to help eliminate reflections.

The tree is blowing wildly and its nearest branches are only a couple of feet from the window. The 17-35mm f2.8 Nikkor lens at its widest has taken in the distant road and bridge, all awash with rain and a car's rear red lights are just about visible. The streetlamp across the road gives out the orange light whilst a security light on the outside wall of the flats illuminates the tree, with a white light.

As this was at about 12.30 a.m and the storm forecast to get worse as the night goes on, the blurry effect may well more intense but as it already really quite blurred, I wasn't going to wait up to try another one.

There will, no doubt, be plenty of Blips featuring the damage, once daylight shows it up but this is a shot I had thought of trying before, so what better time?

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.